NBA All-Star 2021

The 2021 NBA All-Star game was held on Sunday, March 7 at State Farm Arena in Atlanta even though some critics said the event was unnecessary and dangerous to continue during the worldwide pandemic. The NBA’s mid-season celebration was moved from Indianapolis to Atlanta and its schedule was changed to fit the typical All-Star Saturday contests such as the dunk contest, three-point shootout, and skills challenge in one night. Stephen Curry won the 3-point contest as he is the best 3-point shooter in the league. Anfernee Simons won the dunk contest, however, the participants weren’t better than the previous participants, such as Zach LaVine or Aaron Gordon.

The East pool starters were composed of captain Kevin Durant, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Bradley Beal, Joel Embiid and Kyrie Irving. In addition, the East pool reserves consisted of Jaylen Brown, James Harden, Zach Lavine, Julius Randle, Ben Simmons, Jayson Tatum, and Nikola Vucevic. On the other hand, the West pool starters were composed of captain Lebron James, Stephen Curry, Luka Doncic, Nikola Jokic, and Kawhi Leonard. Moreover, the West pool reserves consisted of Anthony Davis, Paul George, Rudy Gobert, Damian Lillard, Donavan Mitchell, Chris Paul, and Zion Williamson. 

The most outbreaking change in the 2021 NBA All-Star Game was that Devin Booker and Domantas Sabonis were injured and respectively replaced by Anthony Davis and Kevin Durant. 

As a result, team Lebron beat team Durant by scoring 170-150. Giannis Antetokounmpo took the All-Star MVP trophy as he scored 35 points on a perfect 16 for 16 shooting.  

By: Seungjun Hyun